Municipal licensing

Taxi and rideshare driver licence cost in Ontario, by city

Driving for money is licensed by your city, not the province, and the city decides whether it licenses you or the company you drive for. Here is what each one charges, and who it charges.

What does a taxi or rideshare driver licence cost in Ontario?

Running the same taxi costs $65 a year in London and $233.78 in Toronto. That is roughly 4 times more for an identical business, and the gap is almost entirely a licensing decision rather than a cost of doing business.

First year driver licensing cost by Ontario municipality
MunicipalityWhat the by-law calls itFirst yearEach year after
LondonDriver Licence, Cab, Accessible Cab, Limousine$65$65
WhitbyTaxicab Driver licence$83$83
PickeringTaxicab Driver licence$100Not published
MarkhamTaxi Driver licence$111$111
BramptonTaxi Driver licence$116$116
Richmond HillCab driver's license$136.47Not published
WindsorTaxicab Driver licence$165.60$145
OakvilleTaxi Driver's Licence$206$206
MississaugaTaxi driver's licence$218.91$198.37
TorontoVehicle-for-Hire Driver licence$233.78$233.78
KitchenerNo taxi or rideshare driver licence is issuedKitchener does not licence this trade
HamiltonTaxi Cab Driver licenceFees are not published on the licensing page
BarrieNo individual taxi driver licence is issuedBarrie does not issue this licence at all

Every figure is traced to the municipality below, with the by-law it came from and the date it was checked.

Why does the same business cost so much more in one city?

Because they are not licensing the same person. London licenses the driver once for $65.00 and takes its money from the platforms instead, at forty one cents a trip. Toronto licenses the driver directly for $233.78 and licenses the rideshare driver indirectly for $26.97, paid by the platform on their behalf. Barrie does not licence taxi drivers at all and bills the company by fleet size. The work is identical in all three. Who the city treats as the licensee is not.

The gap between the cheapest and the dearest driver licence is small next to what mobile food operators face, and that is the point. Driver licensing is one of the few things Ontario municipalities price roughly alike. What they do not agree on is who holds the licence, and that decision costs far more than the fee.

What does your municipality actually call it?

Cab driver, taxicab driver, vehicle for hire driver, private transportation company driver. The instrument you need depends on whether you intend to pick up a street hail, sit on a stand, or take app dispatched trips, and in several cities those are separate licences with separate prices.

  • Oakville: Taxi Driver's Licence
  • Kitchener: No taxi or rideshare driver licence is issued
  • Pickering: Taxicab Driver licence
  • Toronto: Vehicle-for-Hire Driver licence
  • Mississauga: Taxi driver's licence
  • Richmond Hill: Cab driver's license
  • Markham: Taxi Driver licence
  • Windsor: Taxicab Driver licence
  • Brampton: Taxi Driver licence
  • London: Driver Licence, Cab, Accessible Cab, Limousine
  • Hamilton: Taxi Cab Driver licence
  • Whitby: Taxicab Driver licence
  • Barrie: No individual taxi driver licence is issued

Do you need a corporation to get licensed?

No. Every municipality here accepts a sole proprietorship registration. None of them require you to incorporate.

Driver licensing is mostly personal rather than corporate. A city is licensing a human being to carry passengers, so it asks for identification, a driving abstract and often a police check rather than incorporation papers. Mississauga is the exception worth reading: it asks for articles of incorporation or business registration if you apply as a company, and requires that the applicant hold 51 per cent of the voting rights.

That 51 per cent condition matters if you were planning to hold a taxi licence inside a corporation with partners or investors. It is a control test, not a paperwork step, and it is the kind of clause that decides a share structure before you have drafted one.

If you want the comparison without the sales pitch, our sole proprietorship versus incorporation guide lays out both sides.

City by city, with sources

Each entry below shows what the municipality charges, what it calls the licence, what it will not tell you, and where the figures came from.

Oakville

Halton Region

Taxi Driver's Licence. Oakville charges a limousine driver $318.00 and a taxi driver $206.00 for work a passenger would struggle to tell apart, a gap of more than fifty per cent. It licenses rideshare separately again as a TNC Licence. Replacing a lost driver photo card costs $88.14 including HST, one of the few licensing lines here that attracts tax at all.

Taxi driver's licenceA limousine driver's licence is $318.00. Replacing the photo card is $88.14 with HST.$206
First year total$206

What this municipality does not publish

  • The taxi licence page states that all taxicab drivers must hold a valid business licence renewed annually, and publishes no fee. The amount is in a separate rates document.
  • A TNC Licence exists as its own category but the rates schedule does not price it alongside the driver licences, so what rideshare costs in Oakville cannot be stated from this source.

Source: Business Licensing By-law; municipal enforcement licensing rates schedule. Effective 2025-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Kitchener

Waterloo Region

No taxi or rideshare driver licence is issued. Kitchener publishes its entire business licence list in one place, and it runs to thirty categories from auctioneer to theatre without a taxi anywhere in it. The city licenses driving schools but not the people who drive for hire. In Waterloo Region that licensing sits at the regional tier rather than the municipal one, which is why searching a Kitchener address for a taxi licence returns nothing.

Municipal licenceNone is issued.Not published

What this municipality does not publish

  • This records what Kitchener's published licence list contains. It is not a statement that a driver needs no licence, because vehicle for hire licensing in Waterloo Region is handled regionally and that is a separate authority with its own fees.
  • Because the city issues no licence, there is no fee, and Kitchener is left out of the cost comparison rather than shown at zero.

The municipality does not cite a by-law number on this page. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Pickering

Durham Region / Greater Toronto Area

Taxicab Driver licence. The only two year driver licence in this comparison, and on an annual basis the cheapest anywhere: $100.00 buys two years, so $50.00 a year against London's $65.00. Pickering inverts the usual pattern in another way too, charging the owner $250.00 a year while the driver pays $50.00.

Taxicab driver licence, two year termCovers two years rather than one, so the annual equivalent is $50.00. A taxicab owner pays $250.00 renewed annually and a broker $150.00.$100
First year total$100

What this municipality does not publish

  • The fee covers a two year term, so it is not directly comparable with the annual licences elsewhere on this page. The annual equivalent is $50.00.
  • Applicants must show proof of registration in a Taxicab Driver Testing and Training Program, and proof of completion to renew. The city publishes no price for that programme.
  • The taxi page cites no by-law number and gives no effective date for the fees.

The municipality does not cite a by-law number on this page. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Toronto

Greater Toronto Area

Vehicle-for-Hire Driver licence. Toronto runs two routes to the same work and prices them nine times apart. A vehicle for hire driver licence, covering taxicab and limousine, is bought by the driver for $233.78. A private transportation company driver licence cannot be bought by the driver at all: the platform applies for it and pays the city $18.32 plus an $8.65 Accessibility Fund fee, so $26.97 a year, on the driver's behalf.

Application feeNon refundable.$55.53
Licence feeRenewal is $158.76, which with the accessibility fee makes the same $233.78.$103.23
Accessibility Fund Program feeNo longer reduced. Adjusted by CPI as calculated by the city's Finance Division.$75.02
First year total$233.78

What this municipality does not publish

  • The rideshare route costs $26.97 a year per driver and the driver never pays it, because the city does not issue that licence to individuals. The two figures are not presented together anywhere by the city.
  • The licence expires on the anniversary of first issue rather than on a fixed date, so renewal timing differs from driver to driver.

Source: Toronto Municipal Code Chapter 546, Licensing of Vehicles-for-Hire. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Mississauga

Greater Toronto Area

Taxi driver's licence. Mississauga licenses the driver, the owner and the platform as three separate things, and the distance between them is the story. Driving costs $218.91. Holding an owner's licence from the priority list costs $1,225.68. Operating as a transportation network company costs $22,510.18 a year.

Taxi driver's licence, newRenewal is $198.37.$218.91
First year total$218.91

Proof of registration: Articles of incorporation and/or business registration documents if applying as a company, and where the applicant is a corporation it must hold 51 per cent of the voting rights. That is a control test on your share structure, not a requirement to incorporate.

What this municipality does not publish

  • No effective date is published with the fees, so the page gives no way to judge how current they are.
  • A taxi owner's licence is a different instrument at a different scale: $1,225.68 from the priority list, $1,517.19 to take over from a previous owner, $545.59 to renew.

Source: Public Vehicle Licensing By-law. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Richmond Hill

York Region / Greater Toronto Area

Cab driver's license. Richmond Hill charges the same $88.24 to drive a cab or a limousine, then adds a photo identification card and a one time examination, so the first year costs more than the licence line suggests. Against that, an original cab owner's licence application is $5,640.95, one of the largest single municipal figures in this whole dataset.

Cab driver's licenceA limousine driver's licence is the same $88.24.$88.24
Owner or driver photo identification$16.42
Driver examination, per sittingCharged again for each resit.$31.81
First year total$136.47

What this municipality does not publish

  • These are the 2024 figures, the most recent the city publishes where an applicant can find them. A 2025 or 2026 tariff was not locatable, so treat the amounts as two years old.
  • Whether the examination fee recurs on renewal is not stated, so the ongoing annual cost cannot be given.

Source: Tariff of Fees By-law 94-23, Schedule E. Effective 2024-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Markham

York Region / Greater Toronto Area

Taxi Driver licence. Markham charges a flat $111.00 to drive a taxi and the same $111.00 to drive a limousine. Every vehicle for hire licence it issues expires on 30 April regardless of when it was taken out, so a licence bought in March is worth six weeks.

Taxi driver licenceA limousine driver licence is also $111.00. A late charge of $57.00 applies after 30 April.$111
First year total$111

What this municipality does not publish

  • Because the licence expires on a fixed date rather than an anniversary, a first year bought late is not a full year and the schedule does not prorate.
  • The fee by-law does not state what identification or record checks the application requires.

Source: By-law 2012-137, Licensing, Permit and Service Fees (consolidated to 1 January 2025). Effective 2025-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Windsor

Southwestern Ontario

Taxicab Driver licence. Windsor is the only municipality here that makes training a condition of applying rather than a discount on the fee. An applicant must complete the Taxicab, Limousine and Paratransit Association driver education programme before they may apply at all, and the city sends them to a licensed broker to arrange it. It also prices a livery driver lower than a taxicab driver, $110.00 against $145.00, for work most passengers would not distinguish.

Taxicab driver licenceA livery driver licence is $110.00. Renewal is the same as the new fee in both cases.$145
Photo identification cardIncludes HST and is renewed every two years. A replacement is $35.00.$20.60
First year total$165.60

What this municipality does not publish

  • The mandatory driver education programme is arranged through a licensed broker and the city publishes no price for it, so the real cost of entry is higher than the licence fee by an amount Windsor does not disclose.
  • A waiting list fee of $40.00 appears in the schedule without explanation of when it applies.
  • No effective date is given for the fee table.

Source: Public Vehicles, Licensing and Regulation of, By-law 137-2007 as amended. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Brampton

Peel Region / Greater Toronto Area

Taxi Driver licence. Brampton sells the driver licence in terms of one to four years and holds the price almost exactly linear, $116.00 a year however long you buy. The interesting number is elsewhere: moving a taxicab plate into a corporation you yourself control costs $441.00, which is a real and rarely mentioned cost of incorporating a taxi business.

Taxi driver licence, one yearTwo years $234.00, three years $350.00, four years $466.00. Buying longer saves almost nothing.$116
First year total$116

Proof of registration: By-law 101-2025 s. 18(2): a sole proprietor supplies a business name registration, and s. 18(6) accepts a Master Business Licence in its place. Incorporation is never required.

What this municipality does not publish

  • Transferring a taxicab or accessible taxicab plate to a corporation controlled by the same owner costs $441.00. Anyone incorporating an existing taxi business should budget for it, and no licensing page flags it.
  • Rideshare is a company licence at $24,519.00 a year, so a Brampton rideshare driver pays the city nothing directly.
  • The consolidation prints no date, so the age of these figures cannot be read from the document.

Source: Mobile Licensing By-law 101-2025, Schedule 4 and Appendix A. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

London

Southwestern Ontario

Driver Licence, Cab, Accessible Cab, Limousine. The cheapest driver licence found anywhere here, and the only one sold in two year terms: $65.00 for a year or $120.00 for two, with one licence covering cab, accessible cab and limousine rather than splitting them. London recovers the money at the other end instead, charging rideshare platforms 41 cents on every trip, nearly four times what Barrie charges.

Driver licence, one yearTwo years is $120.00, so committing up front saves $10.00. Replacing a lost driver licence is $40.00.$65
First year total$65

What this municipality does not publish

  • Rideshare is priced entirely on the company: $1,000.00 for up to fifty vehicles rising to $50,000.00 above a thousand, plus 41 cents per trip. None of that reaches the driver as a licence fee, so a London rideshare driver pays nothing to the city directly.
  • An owner licence for a Class A or Class B cab is $775.00, and a broker licence $425.00, both a different order of cost from driving.

Source: Fees and Charges By-law A-62, Schedule 1 (2026). Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Hamilton

Golden Horseshoe

Taxi Cab Driver licence. Hamilton is the only municipality here that will licence a new taxi driver for nothing. The ninety day probationary licence carries no fee on initial application at all, and the full licence fee is waived for the first year for any applicant who completes the Accessible Training course, which the city does not make mandatory. It is a rare case of a city paying people to be better trained rather than charging them.

Taxi cab driver licence, first year with Accessible TrainingWaived. The reference guide does not print the fee that would otherwise apply.Not published

What this municipality does not publish

  • The reference guide sets out the whole application checklist but never prints the taxi cab driver licence fee itself, so the amount a driver pays in year two cannot be stated from it.
  • The waiver depends on completing a course the city explicitly marks as not mandatory, so the same licence costs two different amounts depending on a choice the applicant may not know they are making.
  • The only figure the guide does print is the penalty: reinstating a lapsed licence costs $348.67 plus $45.33 HST, which is $394.00.

Source: By-law 07-170, Schedule 25. Effective 2026-01-20. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Whitby

Durham Region / Greater Toronto Area

Taxicab Driver licence. The cheapest driver licence found anywhere in this comparison, at $83.00. Whitby prices the vehicle side very differently: a taxicab owner's licence is $203.00 per vehicle, and a wheelchair accessible taxicab owner pays nothing at all.

Taxicab driver licenceA taxicab owner pays $203.00 per vehicle, and a wheelchair accessible taxicab owner pays $0.00.$83
First year total$83

What this municipality does not publish

  • The schedule does not distinguish a new application from a renewal, so the figure is treated as the annual rate.
  • The fee schedule does not state what identification or record checks the application requires.

Source: Consolidated Fees and Charges By-law 7220-17. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Barrie

Simcoe County / Central Ontario

No individual taxi driver licence is issued. Barrie is the municipality that does not license the driver. There is no taxi driver line in its schedule at all. It licenses taxi companies by fleet size, from $968.22 for one to ten drivers up to $10,888.98 for four hundred and fifty one or more, and it licenses rideshare the same way, with a further eleven cents charged on every trip. A limousine driver is licensed individually at $479.24, so in Barrie the cheapest way to be a licensed driver is to not drive a taxi.

Taxi driver licenceNo such licence exists in the schedule.Not published
Limousine driver licenceThe only individual driver licence Barrie issues, and the dearest in this comparison by a wide margin.$479.24

What this municipality does not publish

  • There is no individual taxi driver fee to publish, because Barrie does not issue one. A driver's cost depends entirely on what the company they drive for charges them, which the city does not regulate or publish.
  • Rideshare is priced as a company licence from $6,592.24 for up to one hundred and fifty vehicles and drivers, plus eleven cents per trip. None of that appears to the driver as a licence fee.

Source: Transportation Inspection and Approvals By-law 2006-265; 2026 User Fees, Schedule B. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

How to use this page

Treat it as a shortlist, not a quote. Several of these schedules are revised every January, and at least one municipality here publishes figures that are two years old because a newer tariff was not locatable.

Follow the source link for your municipality before you budget, and note the date each figure was checked. We publish what the by-law says and what it does not say, and we do not fill a gap with an estimate. If a number here disagrees with your city, the city is right and we want to know about it.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a city licence to drive for Uber or Lyft in Ontario?

Yes, but in several cities you will never buy it yourself. Toronto does not issue a private transportation company driver licence to individuals at all. The company applies on your behalf and pays the city $18.32 per driver a year plus an $8.65 Accessibility Fund fee. Barrie goes further and licenses no individual rideshare driver at all, charging the company by fleet size instead. So the answer to what it costs you personally is often nothing, because the platform is the licensee.

Why does a taxi driver pay so much more than a rideshare driver?

In Toronto the same act of carrying a passenger for money costs $233.78 a year as a licensed vehicle for hire driver and $26.97 as a private transportation company driver, and the rideshare driver does not even pay it. That is close to a ninefold difference for the same work in the same city, decided entirely by which instrument you hold. It is the single largest finding on this page and no municipality presents the comparison itself.

Is a taxi licence the same as owning a taxi?

No, and confusing the two is expensive. A driver licence lets you drive. An owner licence attaches to the vehicle and the plate, and it is priced in a different league. Mississauga charges $218.91 for a driver licence and $1,225.68 for an owner licence issued from its priority list, and $1,517.19 to take one over from a previous owner. Richmond Hill charges $88.24 to drive and $5,640.95 for an original cab owner's licence application.

Do I need to incorporate to hold a taxi licence?

No municipality here requires it, and driver licensing is mostly personal rather than corporate. Mississauga is the one to read carefully: it accepts an application from a company, asks for articles of incorporation or business registration if you apply that way, and requires the applicant to hold 51 per cent of the voting rights. That is a constraint on your share structure rather than a reason to incorporate.

How current are these figures?

Every figure was read from the municipality's own published source and carries the date it was checked, most recently 2026-09-15. Ontario fee schedules reset in January, so treat anything here as a starting point for your own confirmation rather than a final quote, and follow the source link before you budget.

Before you apply

Get your registration sorted first.

Every municipality on this page wants proof your business is registered, and most want it dated within the last year. It is the step people leave until last and the one that costs them a season.

See your options