Municipal licensing

Food truck licence cost in Ontario, by city

Every Ontario municipality licenses mobile food differently, prices it differently, and calls it something different. Here is what these municipalities actually charge, with the by-law behind each figure.

What does a food truck licence cost in Ontario?

Running the same food truck costs $250 a year in London and $9,257.29 in Toronto. That is roughly 37 times more for an identical business, and the gap is almost entirely a licensing decision rather than a cost of doing business.

First year mobile food licensing cost by Ontario municipality
MunicipalityWhat the by-law calls itFirst yearEach year after
LondonRefreshment Vehicle Class 1$250Not published
KitchenerFood Truck licence$268$149
WhitbyRefreshment Vehicle licence$273$220
BarrieRefreshment Vehicle Motorized licence$287.54$287.54
OshawaClass B Mobile Refreshment Vehicle Licence$330$310
BurlingtonRefreshment Vehicle Class A$392.70$392.70
BramptonRefreshment Vehicle Class C plate and Refreshment Vehicle Driver's Licence$409Not published
WindsorMobile Vendor of Food, Class 3 (motorized with on-board kitchen)$450.60$430
Richmond HillRefreshment vehicle owner's license and refreshment vehicle driver's license$480Not published
OrangevilleMobile Food Vendor's Licence$500$500
MississaugaRefreshment vehicle owner's licence and refreshment vehicle driver's licence$528.14$512.67
OakvilleRefreshment Vehicle Class A licence with a Refreshment Vehicle Operator licence$533$533
PickeringRefreshment Vehicle Licence$546$546
MarkhamRefreshment Vehicles, Food Sales from Mobile Vehicles (All Types), Owners$599.50$599.50
MiltonCommercial Refreshment Vehicle Class D$688.42Not published
HamiltonFood Service Vehicle licence, Class A$694.53Not published
St. CatharinesHawkers and Peddlers Business Licence with a Food Truck and Mobile Vending Cart Park Permit$2,556.28Not published
TorontoMotorized Refreshment Vehicle Owner licence$9,257.29$8,767.06
Greater SudburyRefreshment Vehicle business registrationFees are not published on the licensing page
KingstonFood Vendor licence, food carts, stands, kiosks and trucksFees are not published on the licensing page
GuelphFood Vehicle business licenceFees are not published on the licensing page
CambridgeFood Truck business licenceFees are not published on the licensing page
WaterlooFood Vehicle licenceFees are not published on the licensing page

Every figure is traced to the municipality below, with the by-law it came from and the date it was checked.

Why does the same business cost so much more in one city?

Because municipalities are not pricing the same thing. Most charge a single annual licence fee and stop there. Toronto charges an application fee, then a licence fee, and then a separate Mobile Food Vending Permit which is the thing that actually lets you trade, and that permit alone costs more than a first year in any other municipality on this page. Nothing about the truck changed. The licensing structure did.

This matters most when you are choosing where to start. A first season in the cheapest municipality on this page costs less than a Toronto applicant pays before they have sold anything at all. If your concept travels, the cheapest place to prove it in may not be the one you eventually want to trade in.

What does your municipality actually call it?

Every municipality here has its own name for the same business. This is the single biggest reason people apply for the wrong thing, and it is why searching the phrase food truck licence often returns nothing useful on a city website.

  • Toronto: Motorized Refreshment Vehicle Owner licence
  • Hamilton: Food Service Vehicle licence, Class A
  • Greater Sudbury: Refreshment Vehicle business registration
  • St. Catharines: Hawkers and Peddlers Business Licence with a Food Truck and Mobile Vending Cart Park Permit
  • Kingston: Food Vendor licence, food carts, stands, kiosks and trucks
  • Barrie: Refreshment Vehicle Motorized licence
  • Guelph: Food Vehicle business licence
  • Cambridge: Food Truck business licence
  • Waterloo: Food Vehicle licence
  • Milton: Commercial Refreshment Vehicle Class D
  • Whitby: Refreshment Vehicle licence
  • Oshawa: Class B Mobile Refreshment Vehicle Licence
  • Burlington: Refreshment Vehicle Class A
  • Pickering: Refreshment Vehicle Licence
  • Richmond Hill: Refreshment vehicle owner's license and refreshment vehicle driver's license
  • Markham: Refreshment Vehicles, Food Sales from Mobile Vehicles (All Types), Owners
  • Windsor: Mobile Vendor of Food, Class 3 (motorized with on-board kitchen)
  • Kitchener: Food Truck licence
  • London: Refreshment Vehicle Class 1
  • Brampton: Refreshment Vehicle Class C plate and Refreshment Vehicle Driver's Licence
  • Mississauga: Refreshment vehicle owner's licence and refreshment vehicle driver's licence
  • Orangeville: Mobile Food Vendor's Licence
  • Oakville: Refreshment Vehicle Class A licence with a Refreshment Vehicle Operator licence

Do you need a corporation to get licensed?

No. Every municipality here accepts a sole proprietorship registration. None of them require you to incorporate.

Most of them want proof that the business exists on paper, and several want it recent. Hamilton asks for a Business Registration, Corporate Profile or Master Business Licence dated within one year of the application. Toronto asks every applicant for a Provincial Business Name Registration, and asks corporations for Articles of Incorporation or a Corporate Profile Report as well. London asks for neither unless you are a corporation, and Windsor asks only for a Business Ownership Declaration and two pieces of identification.

So the honest answer is that licensing pushes you to register, and never to incorporate. Incorporating is worth considering for different reasons, mainly personal liability if someone is hurt by your food, and credibility with landlords, event organisers and insurers. It has a cost worth knowing too: Richmond Hill requires a corporate applicant to hand the city the full name and home address of every shareholder, which a sole proprietor never has to do.

If you want the comparison without the sales pitch, our sole proprietorship versus incorporation guide lays out both sides.

City by city, with sources

Each entry below shows what the municipality charges, what it calls the licence, what it will not tell you, and where the figures came from.

Toronto

Greater Toronto Area

Motorized Refreshment Vehicle Owner licence. Toronto charges twice. The owner licence lets you hold the vehicle. A separate Mobile Food Vending Permit is what actually lets you trade, and it is priced by season length.

Owner licence applicationNon refundable, payable even if the application fails.$286.47
Owner licence fee$1,177.67
Mobile Food Vending Permit, 12 monthsSix month and nine month terms cost $3,896.58 and $5,844.88.$7,793.15
First year total$9,257.29

Proof of registration: A Provincial Business Name Registration is required from every applicant. Corporations must additionally supply Articles of Incorporation or a Corporate Profile Report dated within one year.

What this municipality does not publish

  • The city page does not state whether a truck trading only on private property still needs the Mobile Food Vending Permit. Confirm with Municipal Licensing and Standards before budgeting either way.
  • Renewal shown here is the published $973.91 licence renewal plus a further 12 month permit. Toronto does not present that combined figure itself.

Source: Toronto Municipal Code Chapter 545, Licensing. Effective 2025-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Hamilton

Golden Horseshoe

Food Service Vehicle licence, Class A. Class A covers a vehicle that sets up in one spot rather than roaming, which the by-law calls a non travelling, site specific food premise. A catering truck, chip truck or refreshment trailer falls here. Travelling operations sit in another class.

Processing fee$81.42 plus $10.58 HST.$92
Licence feeNo HST applied to this line.$472
Health inspection$115.51 plus $15.02 HST. Billed with the application but separate from the licence.$130.53
First year total$694.53

Proof of registration: A valid Business Registration, Corporate Profile or Master Business Licence dated within one year of the application. A sole proprietorship registration satisfies this.

What this municipality does not publish

  • The reference guide states new application fees. Renewal pricing was not confirmed in this pass.

Source: By-law 07-170, Schedule 6. Effective 2026-01-20. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Greater Sudbury

Northeastern Ontario

Refreshment Vehicle business registration. Sudbury sorts businesses into those that need a licence and those that need a registration, and refreshment vehicles sit on the registration side alongside food shops and eating establishments. Anyone searching for a food truck licence in Sudbury is looking for an instrument the city does not issue for this.

Refreshment vehicle registrationNot published

What this municipality does not publish

  • The business licensing page publishes no fee for a refreshment vehicle. The amounts sit in a user fees by-law the page does not link to.
  • The city runs a separate Food Truck Program with designated locations, and whether operating there costs more than the registration alone is not stated.

Source: Business Licensing By-law 2012-120. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

St. Catharines

Niagara Region

Hawkers and Peddlers Business Licence with a Food Truck and Mobile Vending Cart Park Permit. St. Catharines has no refreshment vehicle licence at all. Its business licence list covers everything from public halls to plumbing contractors without one, and mobile food instead goes through a seasonal programme on city owned property that runs 1 June to 30 September, with applications open only in March. It is also the only municipality here that charges outsiders more: a non-resident pays $567.60 for the same licence a resident pays $184.58 for.

Hawkers and Peddlers business licence, resident, per seasonA non-resident pays $567.60 for the same licence, three times the resident rate.$184.58
Environmental fee, per season$546.30
Park permit for the four month seasonThe city publishes this as $456.35 a month and never totals the season. Four months of a 1 June to 30 September season is the figure used here.$1,825.40
First year total$2,556.28

What this municipality does not publish

  • The city prices the park permit monthly and never publishes a season total, so the figure here is our sum of its own published lines rather than a number it quotes.
  • These fees buy access to city owned property. What a truck trading only on private property needs is not set out, and no refreshment vehicle category exists in the business licence list to cover it.
  • Council waived 25 per cent of the business licence fee for 2026, but the notice sits on the business licence page and does not say whether the Hawkers and Peddlers licence is included. No discount is applied here.
  • Applications open on 1 March and close on 31 March. Miss that month and there is no route in until the following year, whatever you are willing to pay.

Source: 2026 Fees, Food Trucks and Mobile Vending Carts programme. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Kingston

Eastern Ontario

Food Vendor licence, food carts, stands, kiosks and trucks. Kingston files carts, stands, kiosks and trucks under a single Food Vendor heading and then prices them by a refreshment vehicle classification it does not publish. It is the only municipality here that advertises a range rather than a rate.

Food Vendor licence, bottom of the published range$92
Food Vendor licence, top of the published range$401

What this municipality does not publish

  • Kingston publishes the 2026 fee as $92 to $401 depending on the refreshment vehicle classification, then publishes neither the classifications nor what each one costs. A four fold range with no rate card is not a price, so no first year figure is given here and Kingston is left out of the cost comparison.
  • The food truck permits page carries no fee information at all, so following the city's own link does not resolve the range.

Source: Business Licence By-law; Fees and Charges By-law. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Barrie

Simcoe County / Central Ontario

Refreshment Vehicle Motorized licence. Barrie splits only motorized from non-motorized and charges the same for both. It charges that same $287.54 for nearly every general business licence it issues, a kennel, a pawnshop, a paving contractor or a food truck alike, so in Barrie the fee tells you nothing at all about the business being licensed.

Refreshment vehicle, motorized, new or renewalNon-motorized is the same $287.54. Replacing the vehicle on an existing licence is $86.12.$287.54
First year total$287.54

What this municipality does not publish

  • The schedule rises every January by at least the Toronto area Consumer Price Index measured on 30 September, so this figure is built to change annually rather than to hold.
  • The fee schedule does not state what proof of business registration an applicant must supply.

Source: General Business Licensing By-law 2006-266; 2026 User Fees, Schedule B. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Guelph

Wellington County / Southwestern Ontario

Food Vehicle business licence. Guelph licenses a Food Vehicle under Schedule 6 of its business licence by-law, the same term Waterloo uses and a different one again from Kitchener's Food Truck. It runs no classes, and it keeps mobile food separate from both Food Premise and Catering Company, which are schedules of their own.

Food vehicle business licenceNot published

What this municipality does not publish

  • The business licence by-law carries no food vehicle fee. Every amount sits in a separate User Fee by-law that the licensing pages point at without linking, so an applicant cannot read the price and the rules in one place.
  • A short term food vehicle licence exists as its own application, but the by-law does not say how short term is defined or what it costs.

Source: Business Licence By-law (2009)-18855, Schedule 6. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Cambridge

Waterloo Region

Food Truck business licence. Cambridge lists Food Truck and Ice Cream/Refreshment Vehicles as two separate licence categories, the same split Kitchener makes and the opposite of how most municipalities file mobile food under one heading. All three Waterloo Region cities separate or name the food truck differently, and none of them agree.

Food truck business licenceNot published

Proof of registration: The clearest statement of any municipality here: a Certificate of Articles of Incorporation, a Master Business Licence or a Certificate of a Business Name Registration, and the page says in as many words that only one of the three is required. Incorporating is one option among three, not a condition.

What this municipality does not publish

  • Cambridge publishes no fee amounts at all. The licensing page says only that fees vary by type of business licence, and the schedule sits in a by-law the page does not link to.
  • Licences expire on 31 March whatever the issue date, and the renewal amount arrives by email in early March rather than being published.

Source: Food Truck By-law 129-14. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Waterloo

Waterloo Region

Food Vehicle licence. Waterloo calls it a Food Vehicle and defines it to include a food truck, food trailer, canteen truck or food cart. Kitchener, next door, licenses a Food Truck and writes its Refreshment Vehicle definition specifically to exclude one. Two neighbouring cities in one region, two vocabularies, and no class letters in either.

Food Vehicle, as printed on the first of two identical rowsWas $357.17 from 1 July 2025.$375
Food Vehicle, as printed on the second of two identical rowsWas $78.74 from 1 July 2025.$83

What this municipality does not publish

  • The fee by-law prints two consecutive rows both labelled Food Vehicle (one day), one at $375.00 and one at $83.00. One of them is almost certainly the annual licence with its label mistyped, but the document does not say which, so no annual fee is published here. Ask the city before budgeting rather than assuming the higher or the lower figure.
  • Because the annual fee cannot be identified, no first year total is given for Waterloo and it is left out of the cost comparison.
  • The licensing page does not state what proof of business registration is required.

Source: Fees and Charges By-law 2026-047. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Milton

Halton Region / Greater Toronto Area

Commercial Refreshment Vehicle Class D. Milton and Burlington are neighbours in the same region and their letters are transposed. Milton's Class D is the chip truck and hot dog cart; Burlington calls that Class A. Milton's Class A is the catering truck; Burlington calls that Class C. Oakville, also Halton, uses Class A for anything motorized. Three towns in one region, three meanings for the same letter.

Commercial refreshment vehicle Class D licenceClass A, the catering truck, is $627.78. Class B is $443.60 and Class C $437.98. Class E covers charitable functions only.$443.60
Commercial refreshment vehicle driver's licenceRequired before anyone drives or operates the vehicle, so a one person operation pays both.$244.82
First year total$688.42

What this municipality does not publish

  • The fee table states no effective date, so there is no way to tell from the page how current the amounts are.
  • Renewal pricing is not distinguished from the first year fee.
  • Changing the vehicle costs $323.75, which is not obvious until you need it.
  • The page does not state what proof of business registration the application requires.

Source: Business Licensing By-law 024-2018. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Whitby

Durham Region / Greater Toronto Area

Refreshment Vehicle licence. Whitby does not class refreshment vehicles, though it prices frozen treat vehicles on their own line. What it publishes that nobody else does is a violation fee. Operating without a licence is $545.00, almost exactly twice what the licence costs, and it sits in the fee schedule as a line item rather than as a penalty.

Refreshment vehicle licence, newA short term special event licence is $110.00, and a vehicle operating under a Town tender pays nothing.$273
First year total$273

What this municipality does not publish

  • The schedule prices a frozen treat vehicle separately, $110.00 non-motorized and $220.00 motorized, but what separates one from a refreshment vehicle is in the by-law rather than the fee table.
  • The fee schedule does not state what proof of business registration an applicant must supply.

Source: Refreshment Vehicle By-law 7512-19; Consolidated Fees and Charges By-law 7220-17. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Oshawa

Durham Region / Greater Toronto Area

Class B Mobile Refreshment Vehicle Licence. Oshawa runs two vocabularies at once. It names four vehicle types and puts food trucks under Motorized Refreshment Vehicle, then licenses under a different set of letters where Class A is stationary, Class B is mobile and Class C is temporary. So a food truck is a Motorized vehicle holding a Class B licence, and the letter turns on whether you move rather than on what you drive.

Application feeCharged on new applications and renewals alike.$50
New licence fee, Class BRenewal is $260.00, making $310.00 with the application fee.$280
First year total$330

Proof of registration: A Business Name Registration and/or Franchise Agreement, with Articles of Incorporation only if applicable. A sole proprietorship registration satisfies the requirement.

What this municipality does not publish

  • A Class C temporary licence costs $125.00 but covers only fifteen days in a year. Day sixteen forces the full Class B licence at $330.00, and the cheaper option is not a cheaper year.
  • The consolidated fees and charges by-law was not retrievable during this check, so these amounts come from the licensing page rather than from the schedule itself.

Source: Business Licensing By-law 122-2024; Fees and Charges By-law 109-2024. Effective 2024-11-04. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Burlington

Halton Region / Golden Horseshoe

Refreshment Vehicle Class A. Burlington's Class A is the itinerant food premise where some preparation happens, which the by-law spells out as chip trucks, hot dog carts and barbeque equipment. Its Class C is the catering truck. Brampton uses Class A for the catering truck, so the same letter points at the other vehicle one region over.

Refreshment Vehicle Class A licenceClass C, catering and ice cream trucks, is $287.64. Class B, non-motorized and pre-packaged only, is $193.80.$392.70
First year total$392.70

Proof of registration: By-law 42-2008 asks a corporation for its incorporating document and last annual information filed, and additionally for a list of every partner, officer, director and shareholder with their addresses and phone numbers. As in Richmond Hill, incorporating is what triggers the shareholder disclosure. Nothing requires a sole proprietor to incorporate.

What this municipality does not publish

  • The 2026 schedule holds the base rate at a 0.0 per cent increase but moves these lines from not taxable to taxable, so the same $392.70 now attracts tax it did not attract in 2025. The schedule publishes no tax inclusive total.
  • The schedule prices a Class D by duration, up to $1,416.78 a year, but By-law 42-2008 as published defines only Classes A, B and C. What Class D covers cannot be worked out from either document.
  • On 21 July 2026 council directed staff to prepare an amendment reducing refreshment vehicle fees, so this figure is expected to fall. No amended by-law was published at the time of checking.
  • A Class A licence will not be issued to one company or affiliated companies for more than three locations at any one time.

Source: Business Licensing By-law 42-2008; 2026 Service Rates and Fees (By-law 92-2025). Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Pickering

Durham Region / Greater Toronto Area

Refreshment Vehicle Licence. Pickering does not license mobile food under a licensing by-law at all. It sits under the Hawker and Peddler By-law, passed in 2004, and there are no classes: one refreshment vehicle licence covers the lot.

Refreshment vehicle licencePer calendar year.$546
First year total$546

What this municipality does not publish

  • The by-law text still reads $250.00 per calendar year. The city's licensing page publishes $546.00. The page is the current figure and the by-law consolidation has not caught up, which is worth knowing before quoting either at a counter.
  • No effective date is given for the published fee.
  • What proof of business registration is required is not stated on the licensing page.

Source: Hawker and Peddler By-law 6305/04. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Richmond Hill

York Region / Greater Toronto Area

Refreshment vehicle owner's license and refreshment vehicle driver's license. Richmond Hill licenses the owner and the driver separately, and prices a refreshment cart lower again. What sets it apart is not the fee but the disclosure: Chapter 875.6.3 requires a corporate applicant to give the city the full name and home address of every shareholder.

Refreshment vehicle owner's licence$360
Refreshment vehicle driver's licenceA refreshment cart operator's licence is $98.00.$120
First year total$480

Proof of registration: Chapter 875.6.3 applies to corporations only: every corporate applicant files its articles of incorporation and the full name and home address of every shareholder. Partnerships give each partner's name and address under 875.6.1. Nothing in the chapter requires a sole proprietor to incorporate.

What this municipality does not publish

  • These are the 2024 figures, and they are the most recent the city publishes where an applicant can find them. A 2025 or 2026 tariff was not locatable, so treat the amounts as two years old and confirm before budgeting.
  • Chapter 875 sets no fee itself. It points at whichever Tariff of Fees by-law is current, which is why the amounts are hard to pin down.
  • Renewal pricing is not distinguished from the new application fee in the tariff.

Source: Municipal Code Chapter 875, Refreshment Vehicle (updated June 2023); Tariff of Fees By-law 94-23. Effective 2024-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Markham

York Region / Greater Toronto Area

Refreshment Vehicles, Food Sales from Mobile Vehicles (All Types), Owners. Markham is the municipality that does not classify at all. Where everyone else splits mobile food into lettered or numbered classes, Markham's fee schedule has one line reading All Types, so a tricycle and a full kitchen truck pay the same. It also licenses only the owner, with no separate driver licence for refreshment vehicles.

Refreshment vehicle owner's licenceExpires 31 March whatever the issue date. A late charge of $57.00 applies after that.$599.50
First year total$599.50

What this municipality does not publish

  • The fee by-law does not state what proof of business registration an applicant must supply. That sits in the mobile licensing by-law, which the fee schedule does not reproduce.
  • The refreshment vehicle line is marked updated December 2024 while the consolidation runs to January 2025, so a 2026 increase would not show here.

Source: By-law 2012-137, Licensing, Permit and Service Fees (consolidated to 1 January 2025). Effective 2025-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Windsor

Southwestern Ontario

Mobile Vendor of Food, Class 3 (motorized with on-board kitchen). Windsor's classes track what the thing is rather than where it stops. Class 1 is a tricycle, Class 2 a pushcart, Class 3 motorized. Only Class 3 splits on price, and the split is the kitchen: a motorized vendor is $255.00 until it cooks on board, at which point it is $430.00.

Mobile Vendor of Food, Class 3 with on-board kitchenClass 3 without an on-board kitchen, and Classes 1 and 2, are each $255.00. Renewal is the same as the new fee.$430
Food Handler photo identification cardIncludes HST and is valid five years, so it is a first year cost rather than an annual one.$20.60
First year total$450.60

Proof of registration: The application asks for a Business Ownership Declaration together with two pieces of government issued identification. The page does not name a business name registration or incorporation document as a requirement.

What this municipality does not publish

  • The fee table states no effective or revision date, so the page gives no way to judge how current these amounts are.
  • Renewals are due by 31 January regardless of when the licence was issued, which the fee table does not mention.
  • Mobile vendors are barred from parts of the Business Improvement Areas, and the page points to Schedule M2 rather than naming the streets.
  • A $10.00 per structure fee applies on top where a structure is used. The page does not define what counts as a structure.

Source: Business Licensing By-law 395-2004, Schedule M2. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Kitchener

Waterloo Region

Food Truck licence. Kitchener is the one municipality here that uses the words a searcher would use. Its by-law defines a Refreshment Vehicle as a vehicle selling refreshment that shall not include a Food Truck, so the two are separate licences and a food truck applicant who follows the refreshment vehicle path is in the wrong queue.

Food Truck licence, new$268
Food Truck licence, renewalA late renewal is $197.00.$149
First year total$268

What this municipality does not publish

  • The fee list is headed 2026 business licensing fees but states no effective date, so the page cannot tell you when the figures took force.
  • The licensing page does not cite the by-law or chapter number that governs food trucks.
  • What proof of business registration the application demands is not stated on the licensing page.

The municipality does not cite a by-law number on this page. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

London

Southwestern Ontario

Refreshment Vehicle Class 1. London numbers its classes instead of lettering them, and the number tracks where you park rather than what you cook. Class 1 is a single approved location on private property, Class 2 is a sidewalk spot the Licence Manager allocates, and Class 3 moves from place to place and costs twice as much.

Refreshment Vehicle Class 1 licenceClass 2, a sidewalk location, is also $250.00.$250
Refreshment Vehicle Class 3 licenceThe roaming alternative. Priced at twice Class 1, so in London the cost turns on whether you move.$500
First year total$250

Proof of registration: Business Licensing By-law L.-131-16, s. 6.1(b) asks for articles of incorporation or a corporation profile report no more than fifteen days old only where the applicant is a corporation. A sole proprietor or partnership supplies names and addresses. London does not ask for a business name registration at all.

What this municipality does not publish

  • The refreshment vehicle page publishes the three classes and no fees at all. Every amount sits in a separate Fees and Charges by-law that the licensing page does not link to.
  • The schedule does not distinguish a new application from a renewal, so the ongoing annual cost cannot be stated separately.
  • No health inspection fee appears in the municipal schedule. Food safety sits with the Middlesex-London Health Unit and any cost there is on top.
  • A 2027 schedule is already published as Schedule 2 of the same by-law, so these figures have a known expiry date.

Source: Fees and Charges By-law A-62, Schedule 1 (2026); Business Licensing By-law L.-131-16, Schedule 16. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Brampton

Peel Region / Greater Toronto Area

Refreshment Vehicle Class C plate and Refreshment Vehicle Driver's Licence. Brampton's Class C is the stationary food truck or cart, and its Class A is a catering truck that does not stay in one place. That is close to the opposite of Hamilton, where Class A is the vehicle that does stay put. Four municipalities now use the letter A for four different things.

Class C plate (hot dog cart or chip truck)$291
Refreshment vehicle driver's licence, one yearTwo years is $239.00. The by-law licenses the Owner and the Driver separately, so an owner who also serves needs both.$118
First year total$409

Proof of registration: By-law 101-2025 s. 18(2): where the owner is a sole proprietor, the application is accompanied by a copy of the business name registration. A corporation files its incorporating documents, last annual return and business name registration under s. 18(1), and s. 18(6) accepts a Master Business Licence in lieu of a business name registration.

What this municipality does not publish

  • Plate renewal fees are not published on the licensing page, so the ongoing annual cost cannot be stated.
  • The consolidation carries amendments to By-law 90-2026 but prints no consolidation date, so the age of the fees cannot be read from the document.
  • A non-refundable deposit of 50 per cent of the fee is required when the application is submitted, and is applied to the final fee.
  • The licensing page lists Articles of Incorporation as the business document and offers no sole proprietorship alternative, which reads as though a corporation is required. The by-law says otherwise. Read the by-law, not the web page.

Source: Mobile Licensing By-law 101-2025 (office consolidation), s. 18 and Schedule 3. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Mississauga

Greater Toronto Area

Refreshment vehicle owner's licence and refreshment vehicle driver's licence. Mississauga licenses the business and the person separately. An owner who also serves needs both.

Owner's licenceRenewal $319.93.$329.77
Driver's licenceRenewal $192.74.$198.37
First year total$528.14

Proof of registration: Business registration, articles of incorporation or a corporate profile, depending on how the business is structured.

What this municipality does not publish

  • The licensing page names its Vehicle Licensing By-law but does not give the by-law number.
  • No effective or revision date is stated, so there is no way to tell from the page how current these fees are.

The municipality does not cite a by-law number on this page. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Orangeville

Dufferin County

Mobile Food Vendor's Licence. Orangeville prices by vehicle type and charges non residents more. A chip truck, food cart, ice cream truck, mobile lunch truck or refreshment stand all sit at the same rate. An ice cream bicycle is far cheaper.

Chip truck, annual, residentNon resident $600.$500
Ice cream bicycle, annual, residentNon resident $120.$100
Special event food vendor, per eventNon resident $160.$120
First year total$500

What this municipality does not publish

  • The page lists required documents but does not name a business registration requirement. Confirm with the Town before assuming none applies.

Source: By-law 2025-072. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

Oakville

Halton Region

Refreshment Vehicle Class A licence with a Refreshment Vehicle Operator licence. Oakville also uses Class A, B and C, and means something different by them than Hamilton does. Here Class A is motorized, Class B is a non motorized structure and Class C is hand or bicycle propelled. It licenses the vehicle and the person separately, so an owner who also serves pays both.

Refreshment vehicle Class A licenceClass B is $236.00 and Class C $233.00. A special event vehicle is $227.00 per event.$316
Refreshment vehicle operator licenceThe person rather than the vehicle. An owner who also serves needs both.$217
First year total$533

What this municipality does not publish

  • The licensing page publishes no fees at all. Every amount here comes from a separate municipal enforcement rates document that the licensing page links to only as Licensing Rates and Fees, which is why an applicant reading the obvious page comes away with no price.
  • A new business licensing by-law, 2026-012, takes effect on 4 January 2027. Anything read today may not survive that change.

Source: By-law 2015-075, replaced by By-law 2026-012 with effect from 4 January 2027. Effective 2026-01-01. Checked 2026-09-15. View the source

How to use this page

Treat it as a shortlist, not a quote. Fee schedules reset in January and at least one municipality here is replacing its licensing by-law outright in 2027.

Follow the source link for your municipality before you budget, and note the date each figure was checked. We publish what the by-law says and what it does not say, and we do not fill a gap with an estimate. If a number here disagrees with your city, the city is right and we want to know about it.

Frequently asked questions

Why is Toronto so much more expensive than everywhere else?

Toronto charges twice. The Motorized Refreshment Vehicle Owner licence costs $1,464.14 to get and $973.91 a year to keep, but it does not let you trade on its own. A separate Mobile Food Vending Permit does that, and a twelve month permit is $7,793.15. Almost every guide online quotes one of those two numbers and not the sum.

Do I need to incorporate to get a food truck licence in Ontario?

No. Not one municipality here requires a corporation, and several of their by-laws say so in as many words. Brampton's by-law provides that where the owner is a sole proprietor the application is accompanied by a business name registration, and accepts a Master Business Licence in its place. Richmond Hill and London ask for articles of incorporation only where the applicant is already a corporation. London does not ask for a business name registration at all. Incorporating is a decision about liability, tax and credibility, not a licensing requirement. Read the by-law rather than the web page: Brampton's licensing page lists Articles of Incorporation with no sole proprietor alternative, and its own by-law contradicts it.

My city calls it something else. Which licence do I actually need?

That is normal and it is the main reason this page exists. Toronto licenses a Motorized Refreshment Vehicle. Hamilton licenses a Food Service Vehicle. Orangeville licenses a Mobile Food Vendor. Windsor licenses a Mobile Vendor of Food. Pickering does not have a licensing by-law for it at all and handles it under the Hawker and Peddler By-law. The sharpest trap is Kitchener, whose by-law defines a Refreshment Vehicle as a vehicle selling refreshment that shall not include a Food Truck, so the two are separate licences and the obvious one is the wrong one. The words differ, the underlying activity does not.

Is the licence all I pay, or is there a programme on top?

In most municipalities the licence is the whole story. In two it is not. Toronto charges an owner licence and then a separate Mobile Food Vending Permit that is what actually lets you trade, and the permit is the larger number by far. St. Catharines goes further and has no refreshment vehicle licence at all: mobile food runs through a seasonal programme on city owned property with a Hawkers and Peddlers licence, an environmental fee and a park permit billed monthly, which comes to roughly ten times what a licence costs in London for a season that ends on 30 September. Read past the licence line before you budget.

Is Class A the same thing in every city?

No, and the clearest proof is inside a single region. Burlington and Milton are neighbours in Halton. Burlington's Class A is the chip truck and hot dog cart, which Milton calls Class D. Milton's Class A is the catering truck, which Burlington calls Class C. Oakville, also Halton, uses Class A for anything motorized. Three towns in one region and three meanings for one letter. Further afield, Hamilton's Class A stays in one place while Brampton's Class A is a catering truck that does not. London and Windsor drop letters for numbers and still disagree: Windsor numbers by what the vehicle is, London by where it parks. Markham does not classify at all. The letter on the form tells you nothing until you read that city's own definition.

How current are these figures?

Every figure was read from the municipality's own published source and carries the date it was checked, most recently 2026-09-15. Ontario fee schedules reset in January, so treat anything here as a starting point for your own confirmation rather than a final quote, and follow the source link before you budget.

Before you apply

Get your registration sorted first.

Every municipality on this page wants proof your business is registered, and most want it dated within the last year. It is the step people leave until last and the one that costs them a season.

See your options